SOPHIE - Oil of Every Pearl’s Un-Insides

Release date
Cat No




Digital & LP

  1. It’s Okay to Cry
  2. Ponyboy
  3. Faceshopping
  4. Is It Cold In the Water?
  5. Infatuation
  6. Not Okay
  7. Pretending
  8. Immaterial
  9. Whole New World/Pretend World

Glasgow-born, LA-based musician and producer, and PC Music affiliate, SOPHIE has been releasing music since 2013. Her debut compilation Product, released in November 2015, featured her break-out singles BIPP and LEMONADE. Since then, she has brought her unique take on production to collaborations with Charli XCX, Madonna, and Vince Staples, with upcoming collaborations with Lady Gaga, Kim Petras, and Bibi Bourelly.

October 2017 saw the release of single It’s Okay To Cry, which marked the first time SOPHIE had used her own image and vocal in her music. It paved the way for what would follow: her stunning debut album, Oil of Every Pearl’s Un-Insides (June 2018), was praised by Pitchfork as “sprawling and beautiful, while still keeping the disorienting, latex-pop feel of her fascinating production technique”, with the album making “a bid for transcendent beauty.” Exclaim! gave the album a rating of 9/10, saying that “it sounds like no one else could have made Oil of Every Pearl’s Un-Insides. This is the kind of music that, in 20 years, we may look back on as a pivotal point in changing the trajectory of the pop music sound.”

SOPHIE’s brand of disorienting, tactile pop is uncanny, both authentic and artificial, a physical experience from an alternate reality - be sure to listen to Oil Of Every Pearl's Un-Insides, out now on LP and digitally.