Wesley Joseph shares stunning new single Patience with Jorja Smith - watch the video now

Ahead of the release of his debut project ULTRAMARINE tomorrow, Wesley has shared his breathtaking new single, Patience, featuring vocals from Jorja Smith. Wesley collaborated with Lexxx (Jai Paul, Pa Salieu, Celeste) and Mike Bozzi (Kendrick Lamar, Tyler The Creator, Mac Miller) on the track, and has shared another stunning self-directed film for the song - with Jorja also appearing. 

Discussing Patience, Wesley said:

"I made a demo version of the beat and hook years ago - I’d recently come back from Walsall and had been chilling with my grandad, so had a few voice notes of our conversations. The last thing I did was add a snippet from a conversation me and my grandad had about him moving here from Jamaica and his outlook on life to the end of the song. Three years later, when the project started forming, I remember playing this song again and knowing that it had the potential to be this beautifully vivid grand finale. I linked up with Dave Okumu and Avi Barath to put our heads together, and they added these soulful chords and guitars. A week or so before we were set to finish the track, I got a text from Jorja - I forget what it was, but it was about music. I knew straight away she’d be perfect for this missing second verse I couldn’t get right, given where we’re from, our perspective on life, and the concept. I sent her a voice note of the song in the studio and asked her if she wanted to jump on it, and a week or two later we wrote and recorded the rest of the song together. We channeled themes of hope, fear, resilience, dreams, masculinity, growing up, loss and the future - all emotions and ideas that tie into Patience."

Wesley’s highly anticipated debut project ULTRAMARINE will be released on his own EEVILTWINN imprint tomorrow (Friday 18th June) - presave here. The self-produced record was made throughout last year and features eight brand new songs from Wesley, including collaborations with contemporaries Jorja Smith, Leon Vynehall, Dave Okumu and more. 


Let’s Eat Grandma announce new album Two Ribbons

Read more


BEVERLY GLENN-COPELAND premieres Ever New (Reworked by Bon Iver & Flock of Dimes)

Read more


Listen to Damon Albarn’s new single The Tower of Montevideo

Read more


KOKOKO! share new FIFA 22-featured single Donne Moi

Read more


Dave Okumu releases debut solo project Knopperz & shares Brother video

Read more


Damon Albarn New Track ‘Royal Morning Blue’  Out Today

Read more


Let’s Eat Grandma are back with their new single Hall of Mirrors

Read more



Read more


MICHELLE share new single Syncopate, announce new album

Read more


Damon Albarn announces global livestream from The Globe, London

Read more


Damon Albarn shares new single Particles

Read more


Listen to Umacashelana, the new single from The Joy

Read more

Previous | Next