Mutual Benefit will release ‘Thunder Follows The Light’ in September

Following on from his 2016 album Skip A Sinking Stone, Jordan Lee (aka Mutual Benefit), is releasing a new album in September 2018. It's called Thunder Follows The Light, and two songs have been released straight away to show off the full range of the patient and prismatic collection of songs accrued over the past two years. New History and Storm Cellar Heart can both be heard in our new music playlists on Spotify, Apple Music and YouTube.

Listen to them both and save the album via Apple Music below. The album is also going to be out on vinyl, CD and cassette, all of which you can pre-order now from the Transgressive Shop.

Jordan Lee, who grew up in Ohio and is currently based in New York, has been crafting pop experiments for almost a decade, blending orchestral instrumentation and ambient electronic sounds. His new album is no different, and features an array of friends and many returning collaborators. Commenting on New History, one of the two first tracks to be taken from the album, which features vocals from Johanne Swanson (of Yohuna), he says:

"I think people in power benefit greatly from a general lack of historic memory in the US. I've been wondering if the first step to imagining a more just world is to study our history better, not just the linear revisionist one that is oft-repeated but all the unsung champions of equal rights as well as the acts of unthinkable cruelty that humans are also capable of."

And, on Storm Cellar Heart:

"Writing this provided a reminder that while moments of recharging are important, I didn't want to get too entrenched in escapism instead of the messiness of living."

There is lots more news to come soon, including some extensive touring of North America and Europe. In the meantime, here are those pre-order links again...

Thunder Follows The Light, out 21 September 2018, pre-order now on vinyl, CD and cassette.


Hippo Campus release previously unheard demos from the Bambi sessions

Read more


Marika Hackman is back with another new single, the one

Read more


Flume is back with a brand new single, Let You Know

Read more


Flume announces special Brixton show for Transgressive’s 15th Anniversary

Read more


Benny Mails releases new single Too Many

Read more


KOKOKO! announce their debut LP, Fongola, and new single Buka Dansa

Read more


Transgressive take over the Rabbit Hole at Glastonbury 2019

Read more


Marika Hackman announces her new album, tour, and video!

Read more


Brand new videos from Foals and Two Door Cinema Club

Read more


New music from Benny Mails - stream These Days now

Read more


Listen to Ghosts, the new single from Boniface

Read more


Our record store day releases are now available online!

Read more

| Next