Listen to Umacashelana, the new single from The Joy

Today The Joy announce their debut EP Amabutho, recorded and produced by Two Inch Punch (Rex Orange County, Kali Uchis, Jessie Ware, Years & Years). To celebrate the announcement, they share brand new single Umacashelana, which you can listen here. Watch the live performance below.

Fast becoming an international phenomenon, The Joy spread instant euphoria with a unique sound that has the ability to transcend genre and continents alike. Their first release is a combination of traditional Zulu music with a modern a capella flourish, perfectly encapsulating the band’s spirit. Undoubtedly, it’s a revitalising, soul-enriching tonic for our times.

Originally from a small town just outside of Durban in South Africa, The Joy met at high school after entering a singing competition together and is made up of band members Ntokozo Magcaba, Melokuhle Mkhungo, Sanele Ngcobo, Phelelani Sithole and Sandile Sphelele Hlophe. The teachers and other students loved their music and encouraged them to continue to sing as a group. 

Through the band’s Instagram account, their music began to spread globally, soon catching the attention of high profile names within the worldwide artist community who instantly fell in love with the quintet’s repertoire of uplifting songs, unique arrangements and traditional dance moves. 

One of those, inspired by their energy and authenticity, was producer Two Inch Punch who flew his equipment over to Durban, setting up in a hotel room and recording the band for their first session. 

Soon after, TIP made the band his first signing to label imprint Love You Up, in partnership with his management team at September (Adele, Rick Rubin, King Krule, PA Salieu) and with us at Transgressive also joining the fold as The Joy’s publishing partners.


Let’s Eat Grandma bring in the new year with euphoric new single

Read more


Damon Albarn releases new album The Nearer The Fountain, More Pure The Stream Flows

Read more


Let’s Eat Grandma announce new album Two Ribbons

Read more


BEVERLY GLENN-COPELAND premieres Ever New (Reworked by Bon Iver & Flock of Dimes)

Read more


Listen to Damon Albarn’s new single The Tower of Montevideo

Read more


KOKOKO! share new FIFA 22-featured single Donne Moi

Read more


Dave Okumu releases debut solo project Knopperz & shares Brother video

Read more


Damon Albarn New Track ‘Royal Morning Blue’  Out Today

Read more


Let’s Eat Grandma are back with their new single Hall of Mirrors

Read more



Read more


MICHELLE share new single Syncopate, announce new album

Read more


Damon Albarn announces global livestream from The Globe, London

Read more

| Next