KOKOKO! share new video for L.O.V.E. ft. Nyangombe

KOKOKO! have shared the kaleidoscopic video for their new single L.O.V.E.

The video for the track, taken from their debut EP Liboso, pulls down the lights to focus on the musicians and their improvised instruments. Singing the hook is Nyangombe, an up-and-coming singer also from Kinshasa. Directed by Renaud Barret and edited by The Bow, the film is a psychedelic insight into KOKOKO!’s creative process, showing how they create a bass drum kick by clicking a switch triggering a blurt of white noise, as well as footage of homemade vocoders, electric guitars and percussion.

Speaking on the video, KOKOKO! says: ''Rachel sings minimal repetitive lyrics in Lingala counting 1 - 2 - 3 and saying:

nzoto na nzoto
na leli

your body against/is my body
I cry, I enjoy, love

This track was composed in Kinshasa in 2016, we made a kind of talk box with a car cassette player, salvage powerful speaker and other parts. débruit and Love Lokombe put it together, a powerful speaker in a box is
plugged into a tube playing débruit's synth recorded on cassette. Love Lokombe's mouth modulate the sound coming out of the tube repeating Rachel’s lyrics.''

KOKOKO! is a creative collision of different artists, which fused at a block party and consists of musical instrument inventors from the Ngwaka neighbourhood, electronic producer débruit, Makara Bianko (aka the
Lingwala devil) and his dancers bursting forth from the Lingwala neighbourhood. The collective born in Kinshasa, capital of the Democratic Republic of Congo, first drew attention to themselves with their techno sound made by rewiring and upcycling materials like sheet metal, cans, engine parts and plastic containers found in Kinshasa’s streets. Their distorted fast rhythms and spontaneous lo-fi sonics provide a chaotic soundtrack for a hard yet abundantly creative city - Africa’s 3rd largest capital city. KOKOKO! means 'knock! knock! knock!', conveying the urgent punk feel of their music.

The collective have also announced that they will return to the UK and Europe in Spring for an extensive run of tour dates that includes headline performances at London’s XOYO and Babadoum in Paris. The band will then make their first trip to the US for Austin’s SXSW festival, before returning to the UK in the summer for a special appearance at All Points East. Full live dates are below, with tickets available here.

  • FEB 09 - Bozar, Brussels - Belgium
  • FEB 11 - Alice, Copenhagen - Denmark
  • FEB 12 - Nalen, Norrmalm - Sweden
  • FEB 26 - Rockhal, 4083 - Luxembourg
  • FEB 27 - L’Aeronef, Euralille - France
  • FEB 28 - La Graveiere, Geneve - Switzerland
  • MAR 01 - L’Amalgame, Yverdon-les-bains - Switzerland
  • MAR 02 - Le Sucre, Lyon - France
  • MAR 05 - Het Bos, Antwerp - Belgium
  • MAR 06 - Paradiso Noord, Amsterdam - Netherlands
  • MAR 07 - ASTROLABE, Marseille - France
  • MAR 08 - Atabal, Biarritz - France
  • MAR 09 - La Nef, Angouleme - France
  • MAR 11 - Baby’s All Right, Brooklyn - US
  • MAR 12/13 - SXSW, Austin - US
  • MAR 16 - The Moroccan Lounge, Los Angeles - US
  • MAR 17 - Public Works, San Francisco - US
  • MAR 20 - Rockstore, Montpellier - France
  • MAR 21 - La Sirence, La Rochelle Normande - France
  • MAR 22 - Le Confort Moderne, Poitiers - France
  • MAR 23 - Le Florida, Toulouse - France
  • MAR 26 - Gewölbe, Köln - Germany
  • MAR 27 - Gretchen, Berlin - Germany
  • MAR 28 - ISC Club, Bern - Switzerland
  • MAR 29 - Musik Tanz Theater, Kriegs - Switzerland
  • MAR 30 - Soukmachines, Vitry Sur Seine - France
  • MAR 31 - Radio Meud, La Clusaz - France
  • APR 04 - XOYO, London - UK
  • APR 06 - Babdoum, Paris - France
  • JUN 02 - All Points East, Victoria Park – UK


False Alarm is out now!

Read more


Hippo Campus release previously unheard demos from the Bambi sessions

Read more


Marika Hackman is back with another new single, the one

Read more


Flume is back with a brand new single, Let You Know

Read more


Flume announces special Brixton show for Transgressive’s 15th Anniversary

Read more


Benny Mails releases new single Too Many

Read more


KOKOKO! announce their debut LP, Fongola, and new single Buka Dansa

Read more


Transgressive take over the Rabbit Hole at Glastonbury 2019

Read more


Marika Hackman announces her new album, tour, and video!

Read more


Brand new videos from Foals and Two Door Cinema Club

Read more


New music from Benny Mails - stream These Days now

Read more


Listen to Ghosts, the new single from Boniface

Read more

Previous | Next