Blaenavon release new single Catatonic Skinbag

Blaenavon have released the first single from their upcoming album Everything That Makes You Happy. Produced by acclaimed Music Producers Guild Producer of the Year, Catherine Marks (Foals, St Vincent, Wolf Alice), Catatonic Skinbag was premiered last night on Jack Saunders’ BBC Radio 1 show as his Midnight Drop. Direct lyricism meets surging guitars to create a song that not only shows Blaenavon’s musical evolution but also delivers a powerful message with a newfound sense of clarity, underlined as ever with singer Ben Gregory’s sharp wit. In Ben’s own words, “the song is about isolation. Cutting oneself off from the world to engage in fruitless sensual pleasures and pretending everything is ok. Watching fucking Netflix and drinking a bottle of wine when you should probably instead be in therapy. But there’s a way out. Art, friendship, love. You don’t have to be a catatonic skinbag. Lol.”

The band have also announced fresh headline dates in the UK and Ireland for May. Tickets for all shows go on sale this Friday (25th January) at 10am. Last week Blaenavon announced a last minute, intimate headline appearance for fans at London’s Omeara on Wednesday 23rd January, which is sold out. The one-off show precedes a major support tour (also sold out) in arenas and large theatres around the UK with The Wombats. All upcoming live dates are posted below - tickets here.

  • Wednesday 23rd January: London Omeara
  • Thursday 24th January: Glasgow O2 Academy (with The Wombats)
  • Friday 25th January: Glasgow O2 Academy (with The Wombats)
  • Saturday 26th January: Leeds First Direct Arena (with The Wombats)
  • Monday 28th January: Newport Centre (with The Wombats)
  • Tuesday 29th January: Bournemouth O2 Academy (with The Wombats)
  • Thursday 31st January: Birmingham O2 Academy (with The Wombats)
  • Friday 1st February: London SSE Wembley Arena (with The Wombats)
  • Wednesday 1st May: Dublin The Grand Social
  • Thursday 2nd May: Belfast McHugh's Basement Bar
  • Saturday 4th May: Liverpool Sound City
  • Sunday 5th May: Newcastle Hit The North
  • Monday 6th May: Sheffield Leadmill
  • Wednesday 8th May: Nottingham Rescue Rooms
  • Thursday 9th May: Leicester O2 Academy
  • Saturday 11th May: Oxford O2 Academy
  • Sunday 12th May: Cardiff The Globe
  • Tuesday 14th May: Plymouth Junction
  • Wednesday 15th May: Southampton The 1865
  • Thursday 16th May: Brighton The Haunt
  • Saturday 18th May: Tunbridge Wells The Forum


Johnny Flynn and Robert Macfarlane share new track Ten Degrees of Strange

Read more


Johnny Flynn announces new album written with Robert Macfarlane - stream first single now

Read more


Mykki Blanco signs to Transgressive Records, releases new single Free Ride

Read more


Baby Boys share video for new single Maggot Water

Read more


Wesley Joseph releases new single Thrilla, with self-directed video

Read more


Baby Boys share new single Desperado and announce virtual album release show

Read more


The Antlers share video for new single Just One Sec

Read more


Baby Boys announce debut album Threesome, share new single Gone

Read more



Read more


Tonight with Arlo Parks: A Variety Hour Special

Read more


Beverly Glenn-Copeland announces reissue of 1986 seminal work Keyboard Fantasies

Read more


Baby Boys share two new singles, Cannonball & Duke and the Cash

Read more

| Next