22/01/19

Blaenavon release new single Catatonic Skinbag

Blaenavon have released the first single from their upcoming album Everything That Makes You Happy. Produced by acclaimed Music Producers Guild Producer of the Year, Catherine Marks (Foals, St Vincent, Wolf Alice), Catatonic Skinbag was premiered last night on Jack Saunders’ BBC Radio 1 show as his Midnight Drop. Direct lyricism meets surging guitars to create a song that not only shows Blaenavon’s musical evolution but also delivers a powerful message with a newfound sense of clarity, underlined as ever with singer Ben Gregory’s sharp wit. In Ben’s own words, “the song is about isolation. Cutting oneself off from the world to engage in fruitless sensual pleasures and pretending everything is ok. Watching fucking Netflix and drinking a bottle of wine when you should probably instead be in therapy. But there’s a way out. Art, friendship, love. You don’t have to be a catatonic skinbag. Lol.”

The band have also announced fresh headline dates in the UK and Ireland for May. Tickets for all shows go on sale this Friday (25th January) at 10am. Last week Blaenavon announced a last minute, intimate headline appearance for fans at London’s Omeara on Wednesday 23rd January, which is sold out. The one-off show precedes a major support tour (also sold out) in arenas and large theatres around the UK with The Wombats. All upcoming live dates are posted below - tickets here.

  • Wednesday 23rd January: London Omeara
  • Thursday 24th January: Glasgow O2 Academy (with The Wombats)
  • Friday 25th January: Glasgow O2 Academy (with The Wombats)
  • Saturday 26th January: Leeds First Direct Arena (with The Wombats)
  • Monday 28th January: Newport Centre (with The Wombats)
  • Tuesday 29th January: Bournemouth O2 Academy (with The Wombats)
  • Thursday 31st January: Birmingham O2 Academy (with The Wombats)
  • Friday 1st February: London SSE Wembley Arena (with The Wombats)
  • Wednesday 1st May: Dublin The Grand Social
  • Thursday 2nd May: Belfast McHugh's Basement Bar
  • Saturday 4th May: Liverpool Sound City
  • Sunday 5th May: Newcastle Hit The North
  • Monday 6th May: Sheffield Leadmill
  • Wednesday 8th May: Nottingham Rescue Rooms
  • Thursday 9th May: Leicester O2 Academy
  • Saturday 11th May: Oxford O2 Academy
  • Sunday 12th May: Cardiff The Globe
  • Tuesday 14th May: Plymouth Junction
  • Wednesday 15th May: Southampton The 1865
  • Thursday 16th May: Brighton The Haunt
  • Saturday 18th May: Tunbridge Wells The Forum

24/06/19

Introducing our brand new signing, Arlo Parks

Read more

21/06/19

False Alarm is out now!

Read more

17/06/19

Hippo Campus release previously unheard demos from the Bambi sessions

Read more

13/06/19

Marika Hackman is back with another new single, the one

Read more

12/06/19

Flume is back with a brand new single, Let You Know

Read more

11/06/19

Flume announces special Brixton show for Transgressive’s 15th Anniversary

Read more

30/05/19

Benny Mails releases new single Too Many

Read more

29/05/19

KOKOKO! announce their debut LP, Fongola, and new single Buka Dansa

Read more

29/05/19

Transgressive take over the Rabbit Hole at Glastonbury 2019

Read more

22/05/19

Marika Hackman announces her new album, tour, and video!

Read more

16/05/19

Brand new videos from Foals and Two Door Cinema Club

Read more

14/05/19

New music from Benny Mails - stream These Days now

Read more

| Next