Africa Express Presents: Maison Des Jeunes

Transgressive Records is proud to announce the release of Africa Express Presents: Maison Des Jeunes, the debut album by music collective Africa Express, recorded during a recent week-long trip to Mali, which will be released digitally on the 9th December 2013, with a physical release to follow in early 2014.

You can watch the video for 'Soubour' by Songhoy Blues on Pitchfork here

You can pre-order the album here.

Africa Express Presents: Maison Des Jeunes was recorded in Bamako, Mali over 7 days in October. Africa Express musicians and producers set up a temporary studio in a city youth club and worked with a new wave of contemporary Malian musicians to complete the album in one week. The club, situated on the banks of the Niger river and known locally as Maison Des Jeunes, became the venue for a week of discovery, collaboration, music-making and live performances.

Highlights include Timbuktu indie band Songhoy Blues - formed in reaction to the jihadist occupation - teaming up with Yeah Yeah Yeahs guitarist Nick Zinner for their first ever studio session on track ‘Soubour'; the extraordinary soulful voice of 21 year old singer (and niece of the renowned Bassekou) Kankou Kouyaté complementing the music of her band Gambari; and British singer and producer Ghostpoet joined by the percussive beats of Bamako-based talking drum band Doucoura on the Damon Albarn and Two Inch Punch produced rap track ‘Season Change'.

The full list of musician and singers featured are: Adama Koita, Bijou, Doucoura, Gambari , Kankou Kouyaté, Lobi Traoré Band, Moussa Traoré, Songhoy Blues, Talbi, Tiemoko Sogodogo and the Yacuba Sissoko Band - as well as Western producers and musicians André de Ridder, Brian Eno, Cid Rim, Damon Albarn, David Maclean (Django Django), Ghostpoet, Holy Other, Jeff Wootton, Lil Silva, Nick Zinner (Yeah Yeah Yeahs), Olugbenga Adelekan (Metronomy), Pauli The PSM, Remi Kabaka, Sammy Jay, Seye and Two Inch Punch.

The album launch event on 9th December at Oval Space will feature debut UK performances by Songhoy Blues and Kankou Kouyaté, together with special guests and DJ sets from Ghostpoet, Olugbenga and David Maclean - plus the UK premiere of the film documenting Africa Express' 2012 train tour. Limited # tickets on sale Friday (15th Nov) at 9am - further info on Rockfeedback.

Full Tracklisting - Artist/Song Title:

1- Adama Koita - ‘Fantainfalla Toyi Bolo' (Produced by Two Inch Punch)
2- Songhoy Blues - ‘Soubour' (Produced by Nick Zinner & Remi Kabaka)
3- Ghostpoet feat. Doucoura - ‘Season Change' (Produced by Two Inch Punch & Damon Albarn)
4- Bijou - ‘Dougoudé Sarrafo' (Produced by Damon Albarn)
5- Lil Silva - ‘Bouramsy' (Produced by Lil Silva)
6- Tal B Halala - Rapou Kanou (Produced by Two Inch Punch)
7- Gambari feat. Kankou Kouyaté - ‘Yamore' (Produced by Damon Albarn)
8- Yacouba Sissoko Band - ‘Chanson Denko Tapestry' (Produced by Brian Eno)
9- Lobi Traoré Band - ‘Deni Kelen Be Koko' (Produced by David Maclean)
10- Moussa Traoré - ‘Farafina' (Produced by Damon Albarn)
11- Tiemoko Sogodogo - ‘Latégué' (Produced by Brian Eno)


Arlo Parks shares powerful new single Black Dog

Read more


Boniface shares standout new video for It’s A Joke

Read more


Wesley Joseph releases new single Martyrs with its stunning video

Read more


Introducing MICHELLE - listen to HEATWAVE now

Read more


New Transgressive management artist Wesley Joseph releases debut single

Read more


Boniface releases new Acoustic EP

Read more


Marika Hackman shares Rosa from Let’s Eat Grandma’s rework of ‘blow’

Read more


The debut album from Boniface is out now

Read more


Queen Bee - new music by Johnny Flynn from the feature film Emma

Read more


Watch the video for Arlo Parks’ new single Eugene

Read more


Boniface releases new single Oh My God

Read more


Boniface announces debut album, shares first single Keeping Up

Read more

Previous | Next