Africa Express Presents: Maison Des Jeunes

Transgressive Records is proud to announce the release of Africa Express Presents: Maison Des Jeunes, the debut album by music collective Africa Express, recorded during a recent week-long trip to Mali, which will be released digitally on the 9th December 2013, with a physical release to follow in early 2014.

You can watch the video for 'Soubour' by Songhoy Blues on Pitchfork here

You can pre-order the album here.

Africa Express Presents: Maison Des Jeunes was recorded in Bamako, Mali over 7 days in October. Africa Express musicians and producers set up a temporary studio in a city youth club and worked with a new wave of contemporary Malian musicians to complete the album in one week. The club, situated on the banks of the Niger river and known locally as Maison Des Jeunes, became the venue for a week of discovery, collaboration, music-making and live performances.

Highlights include Timbuktu indie band Songhoy Blues - formed in reaction to the jihadist occupation - teaming up with Yeah Yeah Yeahs guitarist Nick Zinner for their first ever studio session on track ‘Soubour'; the extraordinary soulful voice of 21 year old singer (and niece of the renowned Bassekou) Kankou Kouyaté complementing the music of her band Gambari; and British singer and producer Ghostpoet joined by the percussive beats of Bamako-based talking drum band Doucoura on the Damon Albarn and Two Inch Punch produced rap track ‘Season Change'.

The full list of musician and singers featured are: Adama Koita, Bijou, Doucoura, Gambari , Kankou Kouyaté, Lobi Traoré Band, Moussa Traoré, Songhoy Blues, Talbi, Tiemoko Sogodogo and the Yacuba Sissoko Band - as well as Western producers and musicians André de Ridder, Brian Eno, Cid Rim, Damon Albarn, David Maclean (Django Django), Ghostpoet, Holy Other, Jeff Wootton, Lil Silva, Nick Zinner (Yeah Yeah Yeahs), Olugbenga Adelekan (Metronomy), Pauli The PSM, Remi Kabaka, Sammy Jay, Seye and Two Inch Punch.

The album launch event on 9th December at Oval Space will feature debut UK performances by Songhoy Blues and Kankou Kouyaté, together with special guests and DJ sets from Ghostpoet, Olugbenga and David Maclean - plus the UK premiere of the film documenting Africa Express' 2012 train tour. Limited # tickets on sale Friday (15th Nov) at 9am - further info on Rockfeedback.

Full Tracklisting - Artist/Song Title:

1- Adama Koita - ‘Fantainfalla Toyi Bolo' (Produced by Two Inch Punch)
2- Songhoy Blues - ‘Soubour' (Produced by Nick Zinner & Remi Kabaka)
3- Ghostpoet feat. Doucoura - ‘Season Change' (Produced by Two Inch Punch & Damon Albarn)
4- Bijou - ‘Dougoudé Sarrafo' (Produced by Damon Albarn)
5- Lil Silva - ‘Bouramsy' (Produced by Lil Silva)
6- Tal B Halala - Rapou Kanou (Produced by Two Inch Punch)
7- Gambari feat. Kankou Kouyaté - ‘Yamore' (Produced by Damon Albarn)
8- Yacouba Sissoko Band - ‘Chanson Denko Tapestry' (Produced by Brian Eno)
9- Lobi Traoré Band - ‘Deni Kelen Be Koko' (Produced by David Maclean)
10- Moussa Traoré - ‘Farafina' (Produced by Damon Albarn)
11- Tiemoko Sogodogo - ‘Latégué' (Produced by Brian Eno)


Marika Hackman is back with another new single, the one

Read more


Flume is back with a brand new single, Let You Know

Read more


Flume announces special Brixton show for Transgressive’s 15th Anniversary

Read more


Benny Mails releases new single Too Many

Read more


KOKOKO! announce their debut LP, Fongola, and new single Buka Dansa

Read more


Transgressive take over the Rabbit Hole at Glastonbury 2019

Read more


Marika Hackman announces her new album, tour, and video!

Read more


Brand new videos from Foals and Two Door Cinema Club

Read more


New music from Benny Mails - stream These Days now

Read more


Listen to Ghosts, the new single from Boniface

Read more


Our record store day releases are now available online!

Read more


Two Door Cinema Club launch into space with their new single Satellite

Read more

| Next